2023: South-South group insists on producing next President


Get Hired Faster with Jobscan to optimize your resume!
Get Hired Faster with Jobscan to optimize your resume!

A group under the aegis of South-South Presidency 2023 has reaffirmed its commitment to the emergence of a South-Southerner as President of Nigeria who would succeed Muhammadu Buhari in 2023.

The group made the affirmation during its third general meeting held in Asaba, capital city of Delta state.

The well attended meeting drew representatives from all the South-South states which included Edo, Delta, Bayelsa, Rivers, Akwa Ibom and Cross Rivers states.

In a 5-point communique signed by its protem chairman, Chief Diekivie Ikiogha from Bayelsa state and nine others from the South-South region, at the end of the meeting, the advocacy group said it was committed to the unity and peaceful coexistence among Nigerians.

The communique reads in parts: “the group reenforces its commitment to the emergence of a president of the South-South extraction. Consequently, it calls on other geopolitical zones in the country to concede the presidency to the zone in 2023.

“SSP23 notes with dismay covert moves and actions by some leaders in the South-South to trade off the presidency for other positions in 2023.

“This is in light of subterranean moves by some politicians in the South-South to present themselves for vice presidential positions and national chairmen of political parties.

“The group therefore advises such politicians in the South-South to desist from such actions and stick to the Asaba and Lagos states declarations by the South-South governors and stakeholders.”

“The SSP23 also commended president Muhammadu Buhari on his developmental agenda towards the Niger Delta region especially on the just completed forensic audit on the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

It called on the president to inaugurate a substantive board of the NDDC for its effectiveness in the discharge of its functions.

The group also enjoined people of the South-South region who are of voting age to avail themselves for the ongoing voters registration by the Independent National Electoral Commission (lNEC).

scroll to top